2024 APTA Hall of Fame Inductee - Johan du Randt


On behalf of the APTA Hall of Fame Nominating Committee, the APTA is pleased to announce the election of Johan du Randt to the APTA Hall of Fame, Class of 2024.

The Hall of Fame inducts those individuals who have either dominated their sport and/or made significant contributions to the growth of the game.  

Johan burst onto the platform tennis scene in 2010 by winning the Men’s National Championship in Philadelphia with Jerry Albrikes, defeating eight-time National Champions Flip Goodspeed and Scott Mansager in the final.

Since winning in 2010, Johan won the Men’s National Championship five more times: 2013, 2014, 2020, 2021, and 2023. That’s six National Championships in 14 years with three different partners—Jerry Albrikes, Mark Parsons, and Stephen Mitchell.


Over that same time, Johan was a four-time Men’s National Championship Finalist in 2011, 2012, 2015, and 2016. Doing the math, Johan was in the finals 10 out of 14 years. 

He also ruled his local Boston Open. From 2010-2023, Johan won the Boston Open eight times and was a finalist twice. 

Johan, by every measure, has dominated our sport over the past 14 years. He is the competitor most male players are measured by, with his pterodactyl wingspan, his focus on the ball as it hits the surface, and his innate ability to understand spin both for his own shots and his opponents. He is the king of the flat dropshot, a master at changing strategy, has a preternatural calm in moments of high intensity, and is a partner to be envied.

Congratulations to Johan du Randt on this highest of honors.


See All Blog Posts